I was going home for my Engagement after three long months .I had to catch the late night train from Mumbai central,16 Km from my house.In order to be at time,I left office at 5:00 pm.You feel privileged to leave your office at this time in Mumbai.I reached home & started packing.It was around 9 pm ,I was able to leave my house after making sure that everything was packed properly & most of important things were in my bag.I knew I was late to book a cab & so,I took a rickshaw to taxi stand.It was night & I was in hurry.I just randomly asked a taxi driver if he would go to Mumbai Central & got down of my rickshaw. As i was getting late already ,I somehow managed to dump my luggage in the back seat & be seated in the front seat adjacent to the driver.I took a moment to cool myself & started enjoying silent drive. After 5 minutes drive,driver trying to start a conversation asked in a very scary tone,”Kidhar se aa rahi ho tum ?” ( from where are you coming ?).I do not enjoy conversation with strangers & then the time,tone of his questions were enough for me to be irritated at once.I saw his face & got a feeling that he was drunk.Oh dear lord !I was in a wrong taxi.Why didn’t i took some time to analyse the driver before getting into taxi.My mom always tells me to judge the driver by certain characteristics.I am known to be tough but at that moment, a feeling of fear got in right down to my heart especially because of increasing rate in crime against women.I had to reach Mumbai Central.If I shout at him & he stops the taxi to leaves me alone,I will miss my engagement ( Yes such weird things happen on important occasions 🙂 ).

I decided to keep my calm & continued to listen.With more & more unwanted questions coming from his side,I was getting more & more furious ,scared .Then he asked me ,”Dar nahi lagta tumko?” (Arn’t you afraid?).I told him bravely that I don’t fear anyone because my father is an army officer and I am taught to be fearless.His questions were irritating me already.On top of it,typical language ‘tumko’ he used with an undignified tone attached to it was making me angry.I was thinking, one more word and I will punch him right in his face( only if I could).He asked again,”kya karti ho?” and told him that I am serving in army. He looked at me with surprise as if I am lying( Yes,I was).There was a change in his tone now.The aggressive & commanding tone suddenly turned into a polite one.He was humble asking another question,”apko gun chalani to ati hogi?”( Do you know how to use pistol?).The journey from ‘tum’ to ‘apko’ ( respect with words) wasn’t that easy :D.Realising that we have almost covered the lonely road & will be entering the crowded area soon,I started participating in the conversation.I told him that army officers/commandents’ have a tracking device with them.The moment we board a taxi,all the details are mapped on the central FBI server & so it is very easy to track any misshapen & catch the criminal.The game was all on my side now.The driver continued to tell me about how easily pistols & other legal documents  available in shady lanes of Mumbai & UP without any legal procedure.

The 40 minutes drive had become one of the lengthier drive in my life.I was so relaxed,when taxi finally entered the busy lanes of Mumbai Central.At last,I reached my destination.He told me he had tried to strike a conversation as it was such a long journey.He advised me to always keep pepper spray & precisely ‘Rampuri chaku’ (the one which flips open in a second after pressing a button on the knife).I was so happy & relaxed.While i was going,he just called back from behind,’ madame!!aap bahut chalu ho’.( means Madame you are very smart).

One lesson i have learnt for lifetime is to never be in a hurry & take a risk to travel alone in night.I don’t know ,if I really acted smart or if I was overreacting.If I was travelling in a Right Taxi.

Was it really a Wrong Taxi ?

I decided to keep my calm & continued to listen.With more & more unwanted questions comming from his side,I was getting more & more furious ,scared .Then he asked me ,”Dar nahi lagta tumko?” (Arn’t you afraid?).I told him bravely that I dont fear anyone because my father is an army officer and I am taught to be fearless.His questions were irritationg me already.On top of it,typical language ‘tumko’ he used with an undignified tone attached to it was making me angry.I was thinking, one more word and I will punch him right in his face( only if I could).He asked again,”kya karti ho?” and told him that I am serving in army. He looked at me with surprise as if I am lying( Yes,I was).There was achange in his tone now.The aggresive & commanding tone suddenly turned into a polite one.He was humble asking another question,”apko gun chalani to ati hogi?”( Do you know how to use pistol?).The journey from ‘tum’ to ‘apko’ ( respect with words) wasn’t that easy :D.Realising that we have alomst covered the lonely road & will be entering the crowded area soon,I started participating in the converation.I told him that army officers/commandents’ have a tracking device with them.The moment we board a taxi,all the details are mapped on the central FBI server & so it is very easy to track any mishappening & catch the criminal.The game was all on my side now.The driver continued to tell me about how easily pistols & other legal documents  available in shaddy lanes of Mumbai & UP without any legal procedure.

The 40 minutes drive had become one of the lenghtiest drive in my life.I was so relaxed,when taxi finally entered the busy lanes of Mumbai Central.At last,I reached my destination.He told me he had tried to strike a conversation as it was such a long journey.He advised me to always keep pepper spray & precisely ‘Rampuri chaku’ (the one which flips open in a second after pressing a button on the knife).I was so happy & relaxed.While i was going,he just called back from behind,’ madame!!aap bahut chalu ho’.( means Madame you are very smart).

One lesson i have learnt for lifetime is to never be in a hurry & take a risk to travel alone in night.I don’t know ,if I really acted smart or if I was overreacting.If I was travelling in a Right Taxi.

Was it really a Wrong Taxi ?

Visit blogadda.com to discover Indian blogs

 

 

 

